skip to main content

Log 3.2.23
Watched a few episodes of The X-Files. The one that stuck out to me the most was Irresistible. I remembered really liking it, but it was.. more intense than I remembered? Still a great episode though, just not fun, exactly. A really good Scully characterisation. Also watched Firewalker - I love quarantine/plague/contagion type episodes so much <33

Haven't read any more of Webtopia. I'll get to it again soon. Today I listened to Porter Robinson's Worlds and Madeon's Good Faith. Both excellent albums, I should listen to more electronic-style music. I know Porter's released a new album since last I was obsessed with him. I was also planning to watch the rest of Supernatural s3 today, but just.. didn't get to it. It was too hot, and the living room has leather couches. Monday, maybe.

Log 1.2.23
It's been a WHILE. Let me quickly list off the things I've engaged with that I can remember, off the top of my head. (May write more in-depth about some of these later.)

Books: Bullshit Jobs by David Graeber - READITREADITREADIT it's so easy to read but deals with such interesting concepts. Required reading if you're at all interested in political theory imo. This book made me want to read everything else this man's ever written. Detransition, Baby by Torrey Peters - LOVED it. cannot recommend it enough if you're trans, and maybe even if you're a cool cis person. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket (Daniel Handler) - also really really good. I didn't read it when I was a kid like everyone else seems to have, but I still enjoyed it a lot. Worth reading. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien - a reread of course. Still excellent. I love dwarves so much. Sansukh, a LotR fic by determamfidd - link provided but I read a physical copy that was lent to me. If you think dwarves were treated badly in Tolkien (and you should), then read Sansukh. It's a Bilbo/Thorin and Legolas/Gimli fic primarily but I gotta be honest I kept forgetting it was a romance because I was so immersed in the world. The romance was fun though! Fully convinced me of Bilbo/Thorin by the end. Currently I'm reading Webtopia by Peter Lewis, really enjoying it so far.

Movies: Lots of 'em. Friday the 13th movies one and two - fun horror movies, lots of fake blood, none of the women wore bras which confused me a little (they were JOGGING) but hey, good for them I guess? Tolkien (the movie about his life) - well-done, I thought, and sad. Highlighted how much of Tolkien's work drew from his experiences, though, which he would have hated. He seemed to absolutely despise the idea that anything he might write could have any relationship to himself. THe Hobbit movies - they were... not good. They were fine. Fun, but upsetting in how little justice was done to the source material. But hey! At least Bilbo's casting was absolutely inspired. The Lord of the Rings movies - 10/10 as always no notes. (Extended edition of course.) Rewatched 2001: A Space Odyssey - just as good as I remember it. Rewatched Pacific Rim (twice) - also as good as I remember it. Rewatched Knives Out and watched Glass Onion - watch them if you haven't already. So much fun. Helen and Marta I love you. Do Revenge - surprisingly excellent! Highly recommend it. Hot Fuzz - lots of fun, I liked how every little thing that was set up paid off in the end. The 'Burbs - fun, but the xenophobia was a bit much for me to fully enjoy it. Encanto - I always get really emotional at animated movies, but it wasn't necessarily amazing as a film even if it did make me cry for two hours. It was a fine movie. I did appreciate how it took elements from magical realism, though, and the soundtrack was nice! A Muppet Christmas Carol, The Muppet Movie, The Great Muppet Caper, The Muppets Take Manhattan - 10/10 no notes I love the Muppets so much. 10 Things I Hate About You - thought I would dislike it but was actually quite good! Curious George - I was having something of a Mental Health Incident and needed something to calm me down. Worked very well. It's a really lovely movie and the soundtrack slaps. There were other movies too I'm sure buuut I can't remember them right now.

Shows: Supernatural, RWBY, and The X-Files. I don't think I've watched anything else to be honest. Spn... I don't really know what to say about it. Show of all time. Don't watch it. Please watch it. RWBY, I binged the entire thing after hbomb's video essay reminded me that I used to love it. It's a bad fucking show but I do love it. TXF, I'm up to the start of season 7 and I've decided to begin again before I finish it. I got the full dvd set for Christmas (!!!) so I want to rewatch on there instead of fucking Disney+. Much nicer experience.

Other: I've watched a lot of Philosophy Tube, Contrapoints and hbomberguy. Haven't listened to any new podcasts really. Deep in my My Chemical Romance era. Happy P!ATD breakup. Etc. I listened to a lot of AJJ during exam season, which kept me sane.

I think that about covers it, tbh - there'll be things I've forgotten, but you get the gist. Email me if you have any thoughts about any of these, have recs, or just want to chat. :^)